Key Thought:

Number of Chapters:

Key Verse:




Christ seen as:

Writer of the Book

High Priest



Conclusion of the Book:

About 1500 B. C.

Access of the redeemed to God is only through the blood. Holiness of the redeemed is imperative.  

Written To:

The book was written to the priests, Levites and the people of Israel for generations to come.

Landscape of the Book of Levites:

Throughout Leviticus the people were camped at the foot of Mount Sinai in the desert Peninsula of Sinai. God had just delivered the Israelites from slavery and taken them out of Egypt.  Now he is preparing to take Egypt (and slavery to sin) out of them.

Themes in the Book of Leviticus :

There are three significant themes in the book of Leviticus:


The Holiness of God - Holiness is spoken of 152 times in the book of Leviticus. It is mentioned here more than any other book of the Bible. God was teaching his people that they were to be set apart or "separated" for holiness. Just like the Israelites, we are to be different from the world. We are to devote every area of our lives to God. But how can we, sinful people, worship and obey a holy God? Our sin must be dealt with first. For this reason Leviticus opens with instructions for offerings and sacrifices.


The Way to Deal with Sin - The sacrifices and offerings detailed in Leviticus were a means of atonement, or symbols of repentance from sin and obedience to God. Sin required a sacrifice - a life for a life. The sacrificial offerings had to be perfect, spotless, and without defect. These were a picture of Jesus Christ, the Lamb of God, who gave his life as the perfect sacrifice for our sin, so we would not have to die.


Worship - God showed his people in Leviticus that the way into God's presence, the path into worship, was opened through the sacrifices and offerings made by the priests. Worship then, is about relationship with God and letting him into every part of our lives. This is why Leviticus carefully detailed rules of conduct for practical daily living. Today we know that true worship begins with accepting Christ's sacrifice for sin. Worship as a Christian is both vertical (toward God) and horizontal (toward men), involving our relationship with God and how we relate with people.

Key Verses:

Leviticus 19:2

Speak to all the congregation of the children of Israel, and thou shalt say to them: Be ye holy, because I the Lord your God am holy.


Brief Overview of Exodus

Leviticus stands in the same relation to Exodus, that the Epistles do to the Gospels. Exodus is the record of redemption, and lays the foundation of the cleansing, worship, and service of a redeemed people. Leviticus gives the detail of the walk, worship, and service of that people.

In Exodus God speaks out of the mount to which approach was forbidden; in Leviticus He speaks out of the tabernacle in which He dwells in the midst of His people, to tell them that which befits His holiness in their approach to, and communion with, Himself.

Leviticus is in nine chief divisions:

1. The Offerings (Leviticus 1 - 6:7).

2. The Law of the Offerings (Leviticus 6:8 - 7:38).

3. Consecration (Leviticus 8:1 - 9:24).

4. A Warning Example (Leviticus 10:1-20).

5. A Holy God Must Have a Cleansed People (Leviticus 11 - 15).

6. Atonement (Leviticus 16 - 17).

7. The Relationships of God's People (Leviticus 18 - 22).

8. The Feasts of Jehovah (Leviticus 23).

9. Instructions and Warnings (Leviticus 24 - 27).



When asking someone about their favorite book of the Bible, rarely do you hear the answer "Leviticus." It's a difficult book for new Christians and casual Bible readers. Gone are the interesting characters and suspenseful stories of Genesis. Gone are the "stuff of Hollywood "plagues and miracles of Exodus. Instead, it contains a meticulous and sometimes tedious list of rules and regulations.

But we will see in this introduction to Leviticus, that if understood properly, the book is rich with wisdom and instruction still practical for Christians today

Leviticus is best explained as a guidebook for teaching God's people about holy living and worship. Everything from sexual conduct, to the handling of food, to instructions for worship and religious celebrations are covered in detail in the book of Leviticus. This is because every aspect of our lives--moral, physical and spiritual--is important to God.

Key Characters in the Book of Leviticus:

Moses, Aaron, Nadab, Abihu, Eleazar, Ithamar..


Chapter 1 - Laws for Burnt Offerings
 Chapter 2 - Laws for Grain Offerings
Chapter 3 - Laws for Peace Offerings
Chapter 4 - Laws for Sin Offerings
Chapter 5 - Sins Requiring a Sin Offering
Chapter 6 - Sins Requiring a Guilt Offering - Burnt, Grain & Sin Offering
Chapter 7 - Further directions concerning offerings
Chapter 8 - Consecration of Aaron and sons for the priesthood.
Chapter 9 - Priests begin their ministry before the Lord
Chapter 10 - Strange fire of Nadab and Abihu
Chapter 11 - The proper food for God’s people defined
Chapter 12 - The law of motherhood
Chapter 13 - Laws about Leprosy
Chapter 14 - Cleansing the Leper
Chapter 15 - Imperative personal cleanliness
Chapter 16 - The Great Day of Atonement
Chapter 17 - The Slaughtering of Animals
Chapter 18 - Relationship and walk of God’s people
Chapter 19 - A Miscellany of Laws, Moral and Ceremonial
Chapter 20 - Various Laws with the Addition of Penalties for their Violation

Chapter 21 - Regulations concerning Priests and Offerings

Chapter 22 - Restrictions against the Unclean

Chapter 23 - A Calendar, enumerating Sacred Days and Seasons


Chapter 24 - Penalty of blasphemy

Chapter 25 - Laws of the land
Chapter 26 - The Blessings of Obedience
Chapter 27 - Rules about Valuations


All About Our Site

Daily Meditation by(c) 2013 Don Schwager

Bible Story illustrations by 

PoPowered byEMF font>Form Builder


All About Our Site

Online Bible and Study Tools

First *
Last *
Email *
We don't share this with anyone
Image Verification
Please enter the text from the image:
Refresh Image] [What's This?]